“The Body”, we now know where Jeethu Joseph gets his ideas from

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The King is nude
Published in
1 min readApr 23, 2021

The 2012 Spanish film was remade by Jeethu in Hindi in 2019

EL CUERPO movie poster

One of my students remarked after watching “Drishyam 2” that had Jeethu Joseph not been a director he would have been a master criminal. Not quite! I had checked the Korean film that was supposed to be Jeethu’s inspiration for “Drishyam”, in 2013, the first installment of the “Drishyam” franchise and I thought Jeethu did a way much better job in Drishyam than its supposed to be Korean inspiration. In fact you could hardly call “Drishyam” an inspiration from the Korean film. But if you are wondering where Jeethu is getting his ideas from then you need to check this 2012 Spanish film, “The Body” which Jeethu remade in 2019 as his debut Hindi film.

Few minutes into the film and I thought it was a horror film but I was dead wrong. It’s a clever story told pretty well. It may be from 2012 but certainly worth a watch. Not the Korean film but this one has definitely served as an inspiration.

Haven’t watched the Hindi version. Go for the original.

--

--

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The King is nude

Software Programmer turned Technical Writer, Writer, Blogger, Trainer, spiritual seeker tyring to better my life and the lives of others via my writings.