BIPOC Writers on the Craft of Writing

Tameca L Coleman (Meca'Ayo)
The Kitchen Sink Approach

--

Old Shelfie (Tweet me yours at @sireneatspoetry if you want to. I’ll say Hi back).

I need this list. Don’t you?

I was having a hard time finding us BIPOC Writers, so I compiled a Goodreads Listopia list which also serves as a living document that can continually expand.

Big thanks to the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library for helping me with new titles to add to my scrawny list at the time, and also huge thanks for the awesome list over at de-Canon, (which writer Steven Dunn posts at least once or twice every year on his social media pages because this list is so so very important).

If you didn’t know, “Writers of Color Discussing Craft — An Invisible Archive” which was compiled by writer Neil Aitken includes some (well, at this point, the bulk) of the books that are compiled into this Listopia list, and also lists essays in print and online on craft, essays on de-Canon, essays on pedagogy, lectures, podcasts, interviews, essays in regards to being BIPOC in MFA programs, and more, much more.

I hope a bunch more of us BIPOC write many more books about writing (we need them! all of them!). I love craft books about writing — and I want to see more of us doing this, and I want to see myself in more of these books, as well.

I hope to see people adding books that go here to the list (and I’m buying as many of these books as I can for my own writing craft section of my library).

Here’s the bald link for the Goodreads Listopia List:
https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/186630.BIPOC_Writers_on_the_Craft_of_Writing_

Thanks for being here, and I hope that amplifying this list and casting a net for more BIPOC Writers Talking About Craft, helps!

--

--

Tameca L Coleman (Meca'Ayo)
The Kitchen Sink Approach

They/them writer, artist, loves weird music & weirder line breaks, improvisation/experiment & creatives making positive change https://linktr.ee/sireneatspoetry