Let’s Talk Kit with Lewis Jackson

Lewis shares his philosophies on the industry, scripting and collaborations. There’s no ‘one size fits all’ approach to any of Lewis’ work.

Hekla Goodman
The KitMapper Blog
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2018

--

How did you get into film? What’s your background?

I love powerful stories. Film was just the best outlet for me to tell stories and send powerful messages across the world. I work in music, hospitality and well, all industries. Video is super relevant in any business especially this day in age.

What have you been working on lately?

I’ve been working on some interesting collaborations with Influencers online to create new/updated imagery for their audiences. Also, I’m a finalist in The Pitch Film Competition (top 10) wherein I am pitching a film idea to industry judges. If I win, I premiere my film in Hollywood!

How would you describe your style? And how does it differ from other production companies?

My style is edgy and a bit bay-bad feeling. I like grunge, street vibes. I try to stay away from being even remotely corporate feeling. Like the picture here.

What kind of projects make you excited to do the work you do? What’s your role on each project?

I get excited whenever I have a message to deliver. This allows me to get really into it! Generally I’m the Director of Photography although I’ve directed and written too!

Can you tell us about your process?

It depends on the aim of the project really. If the aim is for things to be organised, then I will go through the whole scripting and storyboarding process. However, I like to simply turn up, shoot what feels right, and get straight home to put it all together.

What inspires most of your productions?

Usually an experience I’ve had in the past or at least a story I’ve heard from people I care about.

What kind of kit do you use on a typical shoot?

I used a Sony A7S 2, a 50mm and a 28mm Lens. Thats all I need! If I need lighting, I have some LED Panels, but I try to use the light source that already exists. The sun is best.

What’s your favourite piece of kit?

My Sony A7S ii. It’s incredible in Low-light.

What is your most-used piece of kit?

My camera! I use it everyday!

What’s the best advice you’ve received in your time in the industry?

Make your own luck.

What advice would you give, based on your experiences?

Be consistently on the lookout for collaborations, paid or free.

What is something you wish someone would have told you early days about the industry?

That being a creative doesn’t mean you have to settle for a low paying career. There is more than enough work for everyone.

Keep your eyes on our Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to stay updated with our next giveaway, you won’t want to miss this one. If you haven’t already go ahead and follow/like us on social media. We’re always looking to connect with you and share what kind of projects you’re up to.

--

--

Hekla Goodman
The KitMapper Blog

I dig music, startup life, the people in my world and the thrill of it all. Join me along the ride.