Derrick Rose says pick-and-roll with Melo is “choose your poison”

Kristian Winfield
The Knicks Fix
Published in
1 min readNov 18, 2016

During the Knicks’ 105–102 Wednesday win over Detroit, coach Jeff Hornacek’s early offense called for more high pick-and-rolls, specifically with Carmelo Anthony setting the screen on Derrick Rose. The 1–3 screen plays were something Rose said he’d like to implement back in training camp.

“It’s just pick and choose your poison. Usually when I come off Melo, he’s setting good screens for me. So usually when I come off, I’m kind of naked. I just gotta do a better job of making shots, but my legs are getting under me a little bit more, the more I play,” Rose said. “I love the shots I’m taking, I love the shots everyone is taking. It’s just that we’ve gotta get used to taking those shots. And they’re gonna go down. But I’m not worried about us offensively. It’s defense. If our defense is good, every game we’re gonna have a chance.”

--

--

Kristian Winfield
The Knicks Fix

NBA Writer, SBNation.com | Hampton alum →24 → NYC This is my portfolio.