How the Word Pussy Came to Mean a Cat, Cowardly, and Female Genitalia

Ever wondered why a pussy means a cat and a vagina, here is why

David Graham
The Knowledge of Freedom

--

Photo by Manja Vitolic on Unsplash

This is one of those random posts which came about in the most random of ways. I was speaking to a friend and for some reason or another, I have no clue what reason, the subject of the origins of the word pussy came up. Why does pussy mean a cat, female genitalia, and a coward/wimp?

Perhaps the coward/wimp could be explained, after all, there is the word scaredy-cat. But the link to female genitalia definitely seems a stretch. I sure as hell cannot think of any time when looking at a lady’s downstairs department that I thought, wow, that reminds me of a cat.

The question is, what gives?

Well, after doing a bit of googling, the first thing that gives is that there seems to be a good number of people who disagree with me, and think a cat does remind them of a lady’s downstairs.

As such, many argue this is the link, arguing that because female genitalia are soft and gentle like cats, this is why pussy means vagina.

--

--

David Graham
The Knowledge of Freedom

Due to injury I write using voice dictation software. Lover of psychology, science, humour, history, fiction & self-improvement. https://linktr.ee/DavidGraham86