6 Language-Learning Lessons From the Recently Deceased Legendary Laoshu505000

His “level ups” inspired countless people to get learning and practicing

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

--

Photo by Woody Yan on Unsplash

As I write these words, one of the OG YouTube polyglot stars passed away a month ago.

Moses McCormick, better known under his nickname Laoshu505000, was probably the first polyglot I ever saw on YouTube, over a decade ago. I stopped watching his videos many years ago but I still remember the comfort they gave me when I first started learning foreign languages.

Having been in the language-learning community for a decade, I also know how great an influence he was. He inspired many people to take on learning a new language and showed it didn’t have to be difficult or stressful.

We may never be able to see him walk around supermarkets, but his impact on the world of languages is undeniable.

Here are what I consider the six most important lessons he’s taught me and many other learners, so that, if you didn’t know him, you could at least take that away.

You don’t need to travel to the country to learn its language

When I started learning languages, I believed I’d have to move to a country if I ever hoped to…

--

--

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

French polyglot speaking 6 languages. Writer. Helping you learn languages. Get my new ebook → https://linktr.ee/MathiasBarra