7 Habits of Highly Effective Language-Learners

That you can add to your life as well

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

--

Photo by ASIA CULTURECENTER on Unsplash

Disclaimer: This article was originally written (by myself) and published on Tuto.ai

Learning a language really isn’t as hard as we make it to be.

Even though I’m just a muggle who wasn’t “gifted” with the mythical “language gene”, I’ve learned to speak 6 languages and dabbled in 10 others. What helped me achieve this isn’t some secret recipe. It’s a set of habits I’ve taken from others and developed myself.

More than a decade after starting to learn languages on my own, these are the habits I’ve found every highly effective language-learner had set.

1. They Know and Revisit Why They Learn the Language

Polyglots may seem like some monsters who can swallow language after language without thinking. They’re not. I’ve never met a single polyglot who didn’t learn a language to a high level without a reason to do so.

There’s no better or worse reason when it comes to learning a language. Whatever reason you have, if it’s strong enough to motivate you to start and spend the needed time, then it’s good enough.

I started learning Mandarin 9 years ago based on a challenge my, at-the-time Chinese…

--

--

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

French polyglot speaking 6 languages. Writer. Helping you learn languages. Get my new ebook → https://linktr.ee/MathiasBarra