The Simple Trick to Learn Vocabulary With Ease

If you don’t care, you don’t learn

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

--

Photo by Ruca Souza from Pexels

Learning vocabulary is the highest mountain to climb on any language-learning journey. There’s no end to it.

It can get so overwhelming that many people give up on the language they learn. They reach a basic level of understanding and stop there. Reaching a plateau much earlier than they should.

I struggled for a long time with learning new vocabulary in Korean. It plagued my studies for years. I tried and tried and nothing worked.

Nowadays, new words feel easy to learn. All that changed was a mindset change.

I started caring.

Languages have meanings

We all learn languages for a reason. You decide to learn because you love a country’s culture, its books, movies, or music. You learn a language because you’ll be moving there or need it for work. Or maybe your partner is from the country and you want to talk to your in-laws.

Learning a language is easy if you know why you’re learning it. It’s not if you’re forced to learn it and don’t have fun with it.

For me, Japanese and English represent my first love with languages. They’ve shaped my life for two-thirds of my life. We all remember our first…

--

--

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

French polyglot speaking 6 languages. Writer. Helping you learn languages. Get my new ebook → https://linktr.ee/MathiasBarra