These 7 Effective Micro Habits Turned Me Into a Polyglot

And you’d have the same results if you had them.

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

--

Photo by S. Tsuchiya on Unsplash

Most polyglots have been told they have a talent for learning languages. I know I’ve been told this more times than I can count.

And yet, while some may indeed have a talent for it, most don’t. We’re just random people with a passion and an extreme level of stubbornness.

I’ve studied over 20 languages and “only” speak six. Clearly, the ratio of success is proof I’m not so great at it. And yet, six is already quite the number if you ask me.

I’ve improved slowly but surely all my languages throughout the past 15 years. A few intensive study periods did help but what benefited me most was what I did on a regular basis.

A few highly effective micro habits I’ve developed.

Anybody can apply them to their own life. Yes, you can too. And, as a result, yes, you can become a polyglot too.

1. Situations > Words

One of the most common pieces of advice found online nowadays is the claim you can understand 90+% of a language if you learn only the 100/300 most common words in your target language.

--

--

Mathias Barra
The Language Learning Hub

French polyglot speaking 6 languages. Writer. Helping you learn languages. Get my new ebook → https://linktr.ee/MathiasBarra