A Celebration of Nature and Foraging

A poem — being in the woods with my loved one always makes me happy

Irina Patterson
The Lark Publication

--

Image by adege from Pixabay

When we will meet again,
we’ll go to the woodlands
to pluck and nibble on chickweed
and stems of water celery.
“Wait, wait,” you’d say,
“you gotta try this one. It tastes like parsnips.”
I would nod, laughing, “Yes, it does.”

Then, you will adorn my head with
purple flowers of the princess tree.
They couldn’t look
more different from mushrooms,
yet they taste like delicious mushroom soup.
“Amazing, huh?”

I always think of you as
my Rene Redzepi,
that Danish chef of the famed eatery
in Copenhagen called Noma.
You are both into those exquisite foraged flavors,
like wood sorrel, black walnuts...

When we will meet again,
we’ll find and load on pollen cones,
and kawakawa berries,
and mustard greens,
when we will meet, one day,
when we will meet again.

This poem is inspired by this story and was originally written as an entry for The Alpine Fellowship in 2021 which I didn’t win. :)

--

--

Irina Patterson
The Lark Publication

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious.