A Rainy Day

A poem describing a distant memory

Mayur Sonowal
The Lark Publication
2 min readApr 23, 2023

--

Photo by Dana Marin (Amsterdamian) on Unsplash

Gust of wind by the trains,
Monsoon’s here for goodness’ sake,
Skipping stones and shades of sweat,
Severed toe, I couldn’t regret.
We must jump into the puddle, I said.
We must jump into the puddle, I said.

Father’s here to beam me up,
A ghastly stare so wish me luck,
Says to me that the rain could kill,
It’s safer from the window sill.
A spark over his head and my heart stood still.
A spark over his head and my heart stood still.

I disobey obviously,
Running wild with her arms in me,
Sing to me, a ‘Beatles’ tune,
Blackbird, Rain or Yer Blues.
She comforts me in times so simple and true.
Sing with me and I won’t have to choose.

Before the cars and crowds and flood,
Before the shops and smoke and mud,
We’d play catch with rubber balls,
And dance and laugh until we’d fall.
We don’t notice time pass at all.
We don’t notice time pass at all.

Twelve years on and the rain has gone,
A sky of smoke and a scraper’s born,
Mere memories filled in my head,
With forlorn roads and alphabets.
I hope to meet you once again.
You and I will cherish the rain again.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Mayur Sonowal
The Lark Publication

An Infallible Poet, A Tennis player, A blunder master at Chess, and a horrible Engineer.