Aftermath

A grief poem

Chuck Miller
The Lark Publication

--

author’s collection

I watched you die two years ago today.
I try to write about you but don’t know what to say.

I used to document your every move,
but now I just can’t find a groove.

So proud, I wanted to share you with the world.
Like any father, I loved my little girl.

The way you would drag me around by my finger;
these fragmented memories of our bond are all that linger.

Six years passed so quickly in a blur.
My greatest fear now is that one day I will forget her.

I cling to these moments so tightly, for they’re all I have to remember.
Her fire has died, but wait; there’s still a smoldering ember.

What can I possibly say now that would matter
about a precious life taken away, leaving so many in tatters?

So instead I sulk and wallow;
a bitter pill that’s mine alone to swallow.

Last year, I went on a Hawaiian hike.
It seemed a fitting way to celebrate my tyke.

Today seems so much harder.
Are the feelings real, or am I just playing the martyr?

--

--

Chuck Miller
The Lark Publication

I wrote Will Little Roo Ever…?, a children’s picture book, and Inside the Mind of an Iron Icon, a strength training book. https://www.whatthechuuuck.com/