Blue Ant

A story based on a dream

Alexander Razin
The Lark Publication

--

Photo from Iconscout.

“Make your move,” the lackey announced as he looked at his cards.

“Straight flush,” said the opponent.

“Alright, I’m out. You win. Let’s play again, we’re here all day,” said the lackey.

The lackey’s right, we’re here all day. A predicament, me and the guy playing cards got ourselves wrapped in. Let’s say we ended up here because I was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I didn’t intend to get involved in criminal activities. Yet here I was in a dirty white-lit warehouse, keeping it together, sitting on a metal folding chair.

Besides the two playing cards, there are two sitting on a battered couch watching South Park on their out-of-placed flatscreen. Fortuitously, they had enough decency to let me watch. I’m glad they did because I needed something to ease my tension. I’m not sure what they’ll do to me.

While watching TV, I heard a strange squeak approach. My head turned to the source of the noise, but I saw nothing. I’m hearing things, I thought. Ignoring the squeal, I returned my head to the TV. Yet again I heard the squeak. This time closer. Now I’m startled. I turn my head vigorously in every direction to find the source. When I found the source, it astonished me.

--

--

Alexander Razin
The Lark Publication

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too