Caught in Between Money and Virtue

Where is the lie?

Margaret Sitawa
The Lark
Published in
2 min readJun 25, 2022

--

Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

Mike checks, One, two. One, two.
Is it me speaking, is my heart right?
Am I thinking of betrayal?
Caught in between body and spirit.

I am not this girl,
This woman, who questions the certainties
Of life…
That good always wins and kindness heals
That truth paves the way
And not one thing can hide from the light.

There’s a devil on my shoulder
Whispering sweet emptiness
That excites me
Blowing cold wind
That calms me
There’s a demon in my mind
Telling me new stories
That uplift me
Feeding me rare food
That entices

Though I learn to live without money
I am drawn to it….
Its power and might
I get confused and insecure.

Mr. Money
Why did it take you so long to come to reach me?
I have rid myself of your presence
And found faith underneath my troubles.
Mr…

--

--

Margaret Sitawa
The Lark

You'll find poems and stories with a personal touch here. Whatever you'll find, is my truth.