Corner Office

Poetry

JJ Messier
The Lark Publication
1 min readNov 16, 2023

--

Photo by me: My Dream Corner Office

A corner office,
with a view.
Dreams turned to hours, I grind through.
Power
to convert knowledge to profits.
Prayers
to halt my bleeding pockets.

My family’s pride; I refused to fail.
Yet my family’s life,
heard
thru voicemail.
A would’ve-been wife,
worn
from me being rare.
“Baby, I promise, I’m…
almost…
there…”

My hard-earned promotion! [or,
price tag sown into years of existence?]
No longer a drop in the ocean.
[a party of one; no’ne made the distance.]

All I ever wanted
was a corner office, with a view.
My ego satiated,
[Yet, now I dream of you.]

From my corner office,
I longed for life that passed me by.
At least the views were nice,
during my fall
from
the
sky.

Corner Office by JJ Messier

Medium: JJ Messier

Twitter: @JJMessierAuthor

Instagram: @TheJJMessier

Tiktok: @theJJMessier

Just wanted to add a footnote: if you are feeling suicidal, please remember that you can now call 988 to talk to someone who will care about your well-being.

--

--

JJ Messier
The Lark Publication

Poetry, Short Stories. My expression of the human experience. Lover of physics & astronomy, obsessor of existentialism. Just happen to be a Data Scientist, too.