Defiance

Poetry

Kera Hollow
The Lark

--

Mina Bonakdar (left) and Elena Buscaino from Pants against manspreading. Photo from https://www.berliner-zeitung.de/en/pants-against-manspreading-li.135886

My head was down / as she raised her voice
It scratched the ceiling of the grey subway / a beautiful chorus
He boomed in response and shook me to the core
In defiance, she refused to be shaken/ a marble statue
Somehow his actions were never his fault,
Despite his body being only in his control
My head stayed down / as she protested
Her voice growing louder / he raised his hand
All this disruption over a line / crossed with a thick leg
pressed with ugliness against hers,
Looming like a pilgrim over her land
My head was down / as she noticed my smile
I celebrated her victory of speech / with my knowing silence
I know I’m not as strong as her,
But now I have an example of what strength could be
whenever it, god-forbid / happens to me.

(Two Berlin designers have come up with a fun, feminist response to men who take up too much space)

I had an amazing morning. A woman across from me on my commute called out a manspreader. He fully leaned against her and the young man on his other side. She refused to allow his behavior and screamed until he finally backed off. I have always wished to have this sort of force. That sort of bravery against discomfort and the perverse. She was so strong and I was so happy just being in her presence.

I hope you enjoyed my poem. Please consider “buying me a coffee” with the link below, it helps support my goal of hiring beta readers for my debut novel. Thank you! ^^

https://ko-fi.com/kerahollow

--

--

Kera Hollow
The Lark

Hi everyone! I'm an author and poet. I'm currently in the process of writing my debut novel ~ ☆ You can support me on Ko-Fi here: https://ko-fi.com/kerahollow