Dreams Stay On

Poetry

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication
2 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

When twilight, flapping its wings, waddled,
wriggle into the deep;
into the evening dusk, until its pitch dark
and it is quiet and graphite
and the stars and moon, in bunches light up,
the chrysolite and blue sky
and galaxies in flocks arrive;
splashing my face with dreams sweet
unlocking the secrets of my dreamy mind!

Birds nestled into their cozy nest,
dare to dream of flying alone, into the huge world;
still sucking their mother's breast.
When the crickets shout out for their mates
a bait to consummate,
a dream, perhaps can be true, he anticipates!
Lovers cuddle into a silhouette one,
dreaming of holding each other, till the world ends.
The woods deceptive, throw her mantle and unravel secrets deep;
the tree grimes like an acoustic guitar
squeaking voices husky, deep, and dreamy,
igniting love in each one’s heart!

Shadow cuddled me like a baby hug,
dreams knock on my door with baby feet,
bringing joys of giggling streaks.
I dream of things, transcendent;
I hold hands and run away with them,
like a tumbling baby with dimpled legs;
falling again and gain
into a dreamland, a garden of Eden!
I thought that this was it, giving me joy and euphoria!

But,
out of the womb of silence came the chaotic dawn
the twilight dawn, decisive and strong
with the sun rising in the cradle of sky
awakens me to my dutiful deeds

My heart totters between fantasies and reality
and dreams of euphoria evaporate like this flimsy world
The dimpled sky smiled at me with sweet dreams
now looks frail, weak;
snatching me of dreams.
The woods lost the acoustic guitar,
lovers ran away from the embrace.
The crickets were off to Rip Wan Winkle's sleep,
their dreams shattered!
Baby birds forget to fly, and cling to their mothers' breasts.

The languor of deep sleep,
yawning leaves me;
adrenaline rushing in
to cope with the intricacies of life
I get up, not knowing where to go,
my dreams are lost to the morning dawn;
it takes away the pleasure of fantasy offered to me on plates
and platter big!

Ohh! I want to sleep into the fantasies of the night,
that though were not real; they brought me, a lease of new life
Oh!, the morning dawn
go away to a foreign land
I still want to sleep,
I still want to dream,
let me not lose myself, in the doings of this lost world
the approach of dawn, take away
the pleasures of a dreamy perfect world!

--

--

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication

Writing is a passion for me and especially poetry, have already published two books , My Pink bougainvilleas and Wren blooms, read them and love them!