Ever Since I Tasted

True joy is greater than true love

Shireen Sinclair
The Lark
1 min readMar 15, 2024

--

Photo by RF._.studio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/crop-woman-and-abstract-illustrations-on-floor-3817676/

Ever since I tasted this emotion of love it has blinded me to feel mesmerizing thoughts
It taught me prince charming would bestow me with a yearly diamond ring on every finger on every occasion

Ever since I tasted worry and uncertainty
They came stifling this emotion of love
And clearing the view to rational thought
Self-confidence took over and taught me that one has to work toward their own diamonds

Ever since I tasted hard work
It gave way to fatigue which forced my tired eyes to glance at myself in the mirror
The person I saw was strong enough
To move every mountain, cross every river
I experienced true joy when I loved myself more than anyone else

Since I have tasted true joy
I have mostly loved this person I see every day in the mirror
I thank God for the work of His hands
And take care of this being that alone has the strength to push hard
And carve the imagination of my mind
Buck up fella it’s a long road to cover in a limited time

--

--

Shireen Sinclair
The Lark

Artist, mother, writer, immigrant, nurse, seasoned struggler, struggling my way here to motivate others to accept change and start afresh at any point in life.