Extrovert

Musing about the time spent being in the dark and why it’s important to go within

Awakening from the Dream
The Lark Publication
2 min readFeb 4, 2024

--

Illustration by author.

The cocks crow in the dark
in that still moment
when quiet is all.

Illustration by author.

One by one they call out
in their throaty symphony

Illustration by author.

messengers of the dim hour when
dreams and inspirations and fears
our hidden selves
come to the fore.

Relish a few more moments of this
because the light slowly breaks
suddenly morning is here
the cocks retreat
and birds of another breed — the chirpy extroverts
take over

Illustration by author.

in fog-drenched pine trees
welcoming the bright and clear
the inner visions disappear
and outer eyes open.

I love the chirpy birds
but I know I have to commune
with the crowers of the dark
I’ve ignored their company, too long
I barely know myself now
the hidden asking to be honored
as much as the light
before it’s too late and my body gives way.

Illustration by author.

Already, sick people around the globe
are such loud warnings
like the cocks calling in the dark.

Here is a video of the poem being read by me.

Buy me a coffee if you’re feeling inspired. The Medium Partner Program does not work here in the Philippines so I don’t get paid for your claps and comments. Thank you!

--

--

Awakening from the Dream
The Lark Publication

Notes on Joji Balcita's search for a better way to live and die. It’s been a circuitous journey so far. I hope you get something of value to you.