POETRY

For Lorre

Luke DeLalio
The Lark
Published in
1 min readSep 12, 2021

--

photo by the author

Birds live and birds die
and I don’t know the difference
Call me, or hang up
both speak volumes
I’m good
I’m incredibly evil
I’ll do what I can
I’ll do nothing

The sun comes up tomorrow
it never comes up again
Spelling doesn’t count
just make up your own words
Lorre is a bird
a parakeet with a deformed beak
I might have to put him down tomorrow
Will he haunt me?
Flying around the murderer’s dreams?
Or will I bury him out back and then
come in and have toast?

I don’t know anything anymore
I’ve never met anyone
I’m alone
I’m surrounded
Poor Lorre
You’ve never existed
I’ll remember you forever
The days are neither good nor bad but they roll by
They stay perfectly still
Lorre stops breathing or flies away
I understand neither
Judge neither

--

--

Luke DeLalio
The Lark

Artsie and loquacious, Luke hangs out at the intersections of humor and regret, ambition and ambivalence, please more wine and jeez I need to lose weight.