For My Dear Friend — Anna

Poetry

Merrianne Couture
The Lark Publication
2 min readApr 16, 2024

--

Photo by author.

Things and people.

Too much of one.

Not enough of the other.

Like cheap vodka

and velour integrity.

Cigarettes in dreams.

Lungs pink and still in danger.

Despite sixteen years

of not burnt deep inhales.

Prana took another name.

He was my chariot

bringing liens to properties

and lies to rentals.

You never met him.

I no longer

have to write about

my dead parents,

their mismatched patterns

and striped velvet suits.

I would tell you that

I made a vest out of him,

and tried to live it down.

I would tell you about

our favourite professor

who died. I know

you would be

sad about this.

The subjects change

as the mind does,

with cliche winds and dopamine decor.

The list of embarrassments.

Crochet scars up and down.

Every wrinkle earned.

Preach and dropped to

the knees of nothing.

You would die of

cancer but we

could not have known this

when we laughed and

smoked cigarettes, writing

about Keats and his bones.

There is no salary or grace

high enough to account

for this, my dear.

Promised good fortune

at the end of your auspicious

chronology of children

and wounds and love.

A mercy

reminds me just now of

the wealth you gave.

--

--

Merrianne Couture
The Lark Publication

Experiment with writing. (she/her). All photos taken by me.