Free

In the breeze

David Rudder
The Lark
1 min readFeb 11, 2022

--

Image by Author.

I don’t know where it came from,
Nor know where it’s been,
Yet now I know I’m switched on,
And life’s once more serene.

Sing a song of sixpence,
Sing a song of rye,
Never mind the expense,
Let’s bake another pie,

Weeks lost in the wilderness,
Yearnings to be alone,
Steering clear of duress,
Some talking on the phone.

Now the wait is over,
At last, the dam has burst,
I feel that I’m in clover,
And can satisfy my thirst.

For some fun and laughter,
Sweet lunches by the sea,
Satisfy what I am after,
Live a life that’s free.

Dreams fly by aplenty,
Some stop me in my tracks,
Blackbirds one to twenty,
Happiness with snacks.

I’m glad that now the time has come,
Separation and seclusion,
Now that time has become,
A scintillating fusion.

Like the whisper of a song,
Heard softly in the breeze,
I am now once more turned on,
Like the wind up in the trees.

© David Rudder
2019

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
The Lark

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.