Goddamn — I Swear to Go

Poetry for the rebels of hope

Mayur Sonowal
The Lark
1 min readDec 29, 2022

--

Photo by Eric Prouzet on Unsplash

Goddamn,
I swear to go,
Where few men have gone before,
Through troughs, through peaks,
Through the underbelly of the biblical beast,
To the ends of the Earth, to the depths below.

Goddamn,
I’ll brave the raging tempests and the howling gale,
I’ll weather the storm into the moonlit vale,
From death to birth, I wander unsung,
As a black sheep, fee-fi-fo-fum,
Among the herd, a red daffodil I became.

Goddamn,
The surging pain,
Has seized my soul again and again,
The lightning crashes, the whining waves,
A horrid past, a meager wage,
Etched in my arteries, knotted in my veins.

Goddamn,
It was the demon at the gate,
Telling me to pull the trigger today,
To extinguish my light, to barricade the door,
Starships to beam me up for evermore,
Succumbing, to the feelings I could never face.

Goddamn,
For once I did not give in,
I owed it to the seething rage within,
I’ve skipped a life, I’ve swallowed the Sun,
Swapped my sorrow for an invincible one.
And as I stand here, I’m ready to begin.

Thank you for reading. Peace.

--

--

Mayur Sonowal
The Lark

An Infallible Poet, A Tennis player, A blunder master at Chess, and a horrible Engineer.