Grandchild’s Laughter

A poem

Tom Kane
The Lark Publication
6 hours ago

--

grand daughter laughing
Image by Nightcafe

It bubbles up like a mountain spring,
pure and unexpected,
filling the room with its melody.
I want to bottle this sound,

uncork it on gloomy days,
let it spill over me like sunshine.
Her tiny hands reach for my face,
and I am young again.

We dance in the kitchen,
her feet on mine, twirling
to a tune only we can hear,
time suspended in joy.

In her eyes, I see the future,
bright and full of wonder.
In her laughter, I hear echoes
of all the love that came before.

grand daughter laughing
Image by Nightcafe

If you enjoyed reading this, you may also want to explore and subscribe free to my weekly Newsletter, Poetry Genius, which contains tips and discussion on all aspects of poetry writing. Click here

--

--

Tom Kane
The Lark Publication

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium