Guinevere and Lancelot

Poetry

Joe Merkle
The Lark Publication

--

She caught me by surprise
Was it her smile, or sapphire eyes
My mind abandoned me as I apprised
Us waking together at tomorrow’s sunrise

Nothing in my life prepared me for
A moment which I could instantly adore
A woman I never met before
That could arouse me to my core

Her laugh was a Siren’s song
Sang to capture a love so strong
A bond meant that we belonged
She was just waiting for me to come along

Hi, she said, or so I thought
I couldn’t get past images caught
Of her and I entangled in a bowknot
She Guinevere, to my Lancelot

Fate was the instigator that night
It whipped two lives like egg whites
Blending us, moon and sunlight
Forever, two souls, burning bright

© Joe Merkle 2021

Thanks for reading.

I have to once again give kudos to Ravyne Hawke for this daily prompt forcing me to write stuff.

--

--

Joe Merkle
The Lark Publication

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.