Haiku of the Week

Poetry

Steve Robinson
The Lark Publication

--

Photo by Lukas Gächter on Unsplash

Welcome to the Haiku of the week. Each week, I write five to six Haikus with a little of what’s on my mind.

This week, my thoughts turn once again to the fact that, as a writer, I am the ultimate imposter.

Almost simultaneously, I thought deeply about the universe and how it began, which led me to obsess over daybreak, seasons, and the concept of time and space.

From there, I turned back to nature for ideas for the Haiku I must write, which made me question my writing.

Back to square one- how dare I pretend to be a writer!

I still wonder how I landed on poetry, specifically Haiku, as a writer.

I guess I am attracted to the notion that a short three-line poem can be simple in structure but complex in how it delivers thought or meaning.

I especially like Having to be efficient with my words while trying to paint vibrant images that evoke strong emotions.

Seventeen syllables, three lines, and juxtaposition. I love the puzzle each poem presents and how it stretches my thinking and feeble writing skills. Haiku makes me a better writer.

I used to live with great confidence and the need for influence. Today, as a writer, I am filled with questions I try to answer and an insatiable…

--

--

Steve Robinson
The Lark Publication

I am a consultant, mentor/coach, writer, and runner, helping people and sharing my healthy lifestyle.