Honeybee

A poem of fate

John Gillen
The Lark Publication
1 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Photo by leandro fregoni on Unsplash

I saw in my visions
A honeybee dancing
Over a large pool
Of golden love

The honeybee flew
Across the holy lake
Until
It dipped
Too low
In the joy
Of its dancing
And caught the edge
Of its wing
On the marble surface
It quickly pulled
Itself upright
But the added weight
Flipped the honeybee
Upside
Down

And it struck
The ocean
Of honey
With a gentle
Sharp
Smack
Then
Wiggled and kicked
In the vast
Thick
Sweetness

Until
It stopped
And my soul understood
That a life
Was gone
A unique spark of love
Forever
Ended
Drowned
In the sea
Of it’s own sacred honey

I surprised myself
By how hard I screamed
And how much my soul loved
This lost honeybee
I wanted and wished
To save it from strife
Set it free from its tomb
And restart its life
Once again see it fly
Watch it dance in the sky
As it had done so well
Just before it had fell

But my screaming was wasted
And my wishes were too
The honeybee stayed dead
And the honey did too
I awoke
From my dream
Whose meaning I knew
And my whole soul wished
That I
Had drowned
Too

--

--