Poetry

How I Stay in Shape by Marilyn Monroe

A poem with found text from a 1950s magazine

Amanda Laughtland
The Lark Publication
2 min readSep 24, 2021

--

Photo by pure julia on Unsplash

Now I spend at least ten minutes each morning
working out with small weights. I have never cared especially
for outdoor sports and have no desire to excel
at tennis, swimming, or golf. I’ll leave those things

to the men. Despite its great vogue in California
I’m personally opposed to a deep tan.
By nature I suppose I have a languorous disposition.
I move my weights in circles until I’m tired.

Now I have to worry about eating too much.
Before I take my morning shower
I start warming a cup of milk on the hot plate
I keep in my hotel room. When it’s hot, I break

two raw eggs into the milk, whip them up with a fork,
and drink them while I’m dressing. I supplement this
with a multi-vitamin pill, and I doubt
any doctor could recommend a more nourishing breakfast.

Every night I stop at the market near my hotel
and pick up a steak, lamb chops, or some liver
which I broil in…

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
The Lark Publication

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!