How Many Questions?

But I don’t want to answer

Indah Maulida
The Lark
1 min readDec 4, 2022

--

Photo by jonathan wilson rosas peña on Unsplash

A long day, carrying a duty
solving the trouble, dealing with people
no energy to care, murmur a no

But on a bus, on a train,
in a street, in a valley,
there is always someone who is curious,
who ask questions, or who really need a damn answer,
of who I am, where I go, why I am alone,
what I am doing here, what kind of job I do,
and the other dozens of things about me

Is this tired face, or restless legs,
or these scared eyes, or those “no” and
“I don’t know” so hard to be understood?

Let me be,
let me be silent,
let me be silent without an answer,
let me be silent without an answer and walk away,
let me be silent without an answer and walk away to go home.

© 2022 Indah Maulida

--

--

Indah Maulida
The Lark

Gloom makes you bloom. Like a flower. | Writer. Poet. English Instructor. Dreamer. | Support me here https://ko-fi.com/indahmaulida