How Wishes Were Made

‘Just put your lips together and blow’

Star Love Grey
The Lark Publication

--

Image by Star Love Grey (Author) using Motion Leap

Seems nothing will ever be quite enough.
Plethora of plenty are lacking some stuff.
Too many have none; others too much fluff.
Nothing will change till I make some rebuff.

Pondering precisely some magic puff.
Trying this and that exhausted my duff.
I asked ‘nameless one’ in a voice so gruff;
“Any suggestions on making my dreams less tough?”

“You ask me, with no name, how to make dreams less gruff?
Endow thou a name, please, just off the cuff.”

“A name for a wish? That’s fair enough.”
“I’ll wait as you ponder; ’tis easy stuff.”

“Yes, ‘no name’; you have waited long enough.
It must be magical and full of fluff.
You’re quite dandy and like a Lion, which is a plus.
I name you ‘Dandelion’. Wishes you’ll grant with a puff on your pappus.”

“Are you sure? Is this real? Puff my pappus?”
“Yes, Dandelion, I wouldn’t give you guff.
You and your name will become historical stuff.
Puff your pappus and wishes will fly from that stuff.”

Dandelions don’t tell no lies… — Mick Jagger

My deepest gratitude to Denise Larkin, Editor of The Lark for honoring me as a Writer for her lovely publication.

--

--

Star Love Grey
The Lark Publication

I am the opened Pandora’s Box. Actress/Singer/Dancer, Writer, Poet. I’ll write any genre if it holds still long enough. Other boring stuff, but I’ll run out of