If I said otherwise I was wrong

I Do Recall

I recall it all

--

Photo by Abbat via Unsplash

Though it is now the fall
If I said otherwise
I was wrong
I do recall
I recall it all

I can remember
the best of our September
and the April showers
I remember our first time together
watching Lauren Bacall
Our shy faces
burning with youthful desire
failing to understand
what we held in our hands

Though it is now winter
If I said otherwise
I was wrong
I will never forget
our time together

I can remember
the best of our September
and the beautiful June flowers
I remember the sudden chill
arriving that first fall
but it was the winter
we loved most of all

I can remember
the best of our September
came that first spring
when our sadness began
the memories stolen
the joy forsaken
I can remember
our last September
just before your life was
taken

Though it is now the fall
If I said otherwise
I was wrong
I do recall
I recall it all
I have prayed
to St. Peter, Mother Mary
and Paul
but none
can seem to recall

So I will always remember
our September
the autumn breeze
the loneliness of fall
Now I pray only to those
memories
that I can recall

@Anthony2024mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
The Lark

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous