I See Dead People

A poem

Tom Kane
The Lark
1 min readJun 7, 2024

--

Phantoms drift through city streets, art
Image by Nightcafe

Phantoms drift through city streets,
their wispy forms brushing past the living,
unseen, unheard, forgotten remnants.

I am haunted by their mournful eyes,
gateways to shattered worlds,
untold stories frozen in eternity’s grasp.

They linger in abandoned spaces,
echoes of lives abruptly severed,
clinging to shreds of existence.

I hear their whispered lamentations,
a sorrowful symphony only I can decipher,
begging for acknowledgment, for peace.

Invisible to most, yet vivid to my sight,
these restless spirits roam endlessly,
searching for a resolution they may never find.

I am their witness, their unlikely confidant,
burdened with the weight of their tales,
a bridge between realms, a soul astray.

Subscribe to get my free weekly Poetry Newsletter on Substack. All things poetry — discussion, hints and tips, tuition, etc from Medium’s top poetry writer. Click here: Poetry Genius | <Tom Kane> | Substack

--

--

Tom Kane
The Lark

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium