In the Book of Psalms

A poem

Iyere Perpetual
The Lark
2 min readSep 27, 2024

--

Photo by Jaredd Craig on Unsplash

Surely, goodness and mercies;
I feared that I would lose you
But in keeping you, I lost myself.
Fragments of my soul fell like shards
In the palms of your soft hands.

Shall follow me;
You keep following me like the moon
Atop the sky on a lonely night
And I follow you like a lamb to the slaughter.

All the days of my life;
I cannot live the rest of my life like this.
These trials in love be too many for me
And I cannot stand myself in the silence
Because I am my own worst critic.

And I shall dwell
Ever in the presence of the Most High
Feeling like a misfit in His kingdom.
Have you seen a new recruit?
Those lots always look out of place
Like babies learning to walk with wobbly legs.

In the house of the Lord,
There is meat for everyone.
Come, let us wine and dine
In the house of the Lord,
Nobody is guilty and He loves you.

Forevermore
Even if you sing or play gospel songs in the mornings,
The songs are not your salvation,
They will not save you from you.

Amen!
Amen to your repentance,
I hope you find release falling on your knees —
On those knees where your soul is barred.

©Iyere Perpetual (September 19, 2024)

--

--

Iyere Perpetual
The Lark

Poet, Freelancer, Efficient Orator, Content Writer and Storyteller