Invisible

I can’t see you coming

David Rudder
The Lark Publication
1 min readDec 25, 2021

--

Out there the air is in despair,
The forest and the trees,
The mischief is invisible,
And brings us to our knees.

Before it bore a name and tag,
A logo or a brand,
Though now it is invisible,
Mere molecules of sand.

I can’t see you coming,
Or know where you have been,
And the disguise behind your eyes,
Is something in between.

There are words the ones I heard,
Then whispers in the night,
Drifting in the atmosphere,
Completely out of sight.

Will I learn to love you?
Or leave the wish alone,
And hover here harmonically,
With one hand on the phone.

Elusive as quicksilver,
And as you disappear,
I wipe my mind and wonder,
When you will reappear.

In a world that’s upside down,
You mingle in the air,
And whilst some are circumspect,
Others dash and dare.

Is this the new normal?
Will I look before I leap?
Though I know you’re invisible,
Keep us safe before we sleep.

© David Rudder
2021

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
The Lark Publication

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.