Is it Forgery Fraud or a Remarkable Find?

When art inspires introspective poetry

Connie Song
The Lark Publication
1 min readJul 18, 2022

--

Controversial painting Odette: Modigliani fake or find? (link)

My first love once called me his wildflower.
as if he never expected me to understand
how wildflowers
can rise through stone,

fill the empty space
between cracks
in the wind,
feel the strength of their own resilience,
and reach up to paint the porcelain sky.

I couldn’t bear to tell him
that I was nothing more
than a fake,
a fraud
an imposter
since it was true
I could very well be the wildest of flowers,
but I knew I was never his.

Grace Notes: This painting was found in the trash and a controversy ensued about its legitimacy as a long-lost, authentic work of Expressionist artist, Amedeo Modigliani. (See photo link for details.)

Leaving me with my disjointed words, a poem about the boundaries of love, inspired in part by the mystery surrounding the painting.

© Connie Song 2022. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
The Lark Publication

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.