THE LARK

Killing the Intruder

A poem

Tom Kane
The Lark Publication

--

I’d planned his death for quite some time, before that fateful day,
his presence filled me with such hate, I could not look his way.
Killing never crossed my mind, I don’t like guns or knives,
until he came, with his evil game, and blighted all our lives.

He came into my house one night, I never heard a sound,
and carried out his dreadful deed, but left his mark behind.
Now I had sworn to break his neck, despite pleas from my wife,
Hatred-driven, no quarter given, I took his worthless life.

I’ve never liked his secretive type, his modus operandi,
they always sneak into your house and steal whatever’s handy.
I cannot stand to see them run, at night around my house,
So I’m the chap who set the trap that killed that little mouse.

--

--

Tom Kane
The Lark Publication

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium