Last Day

A poem

Angie Smartt
The Lark Publication

--

So many last days
that I could not see coming
They haunt me
I would have loved to pause and savor those days

The last day you were alive
I would have stayed with you
I would have camped out right there
Never letting go of your hand

The last day I nursed you
I would have stroked your sweet face
I would have mooned over your sweet fingers and toes
nestled into my belly

The last day of the old city
before the earth shook it to the ground
My favorite restaurants, shops, quaint alleyways
Those places now only shadows in my mind

So many unseen last days
Leaves me pensive and considered
Prone to cherishing the small moments
that may be the last

This story was inspired by The Daily Special Prompt — October 28st on
Ravyne Hawke’s publication Promptly Written

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee to show your love. Thank you for your support!

If you’d like to support my writing and have a world of other great writers at your fingertips consider joining Medium here

--

--