Loving Oneself — An Art

To love oneself is the beginning of a lifelong romance. ―Oscar Wilde

Arushi Sahu
The Lark Publication
1 min readDec 18, 2021

--

Photo by Luke Leung on Unsplash

Loving oneself is an art.
Setting me and my life apart
Existing in the mirror is me
Standing out is also me

Reflections that I
Desire to perceive
Was a masked demon
Who came to deceive.

I hated the me in the
mirror first.
Nothing fitted my
utmost thirst.

Loving oneself is an art.
To learn it,
nothing needs to be set apart.

Listen to your heart
Which only speaks in silence.
Learn this art
The thirst of reflection is violence.

Feel your soul
That will never cost a toll.
Let out a smile
Let that body be a beautiful isle.

A self monologue
Ended with a satisfying epilogue.
Fell in love with the one outside
The mirror.

Braced up and smiled
at the sight of mirror
which seemed significantly
more unimpeachable.

Read this indulgent poem today by Walter Bowne.

--

--

Arushi Sahu
The Lark Publication

A being lost in fantasy. Craving step beyond reality| Poetry| Other sites:- https://fusedmusingspoetry.blogspot.com | Insta: @dawn.s.poetry