OTTAVA RIMA

Marigold Flowers Glow in the Ferny Green

The Lark’s poetry competition — third place winner

William J Spirdione
The Lark Publication
2 min readAug 8, 2022

--

Photo by William J Spirdione

I started gardening when I was young
while holding handfuls of these precious seeds.
These little half white half black sticks far-flung
all over garden loam just scratched of weeds.
Remember picking flowers dried among
bright orange blooms still bright. Our seed proceeds
bunched in their rustling ruffled dry tan skirt.
I put some in the pocket of my shirt.

Photo by William J Spirdione

Tagetes’ simple orange daisies glow.
Bright orange petals range from dark to light.
With some more yellow on the spectrum though.
These marigolds’ bright colors out of sight.
My hands have aged these fifty years or so
since those first seeds though memories are bright.
Red fades to yellow petals. Green turns black.
Their fresh scent never fails to bring me back.

--

--

William J Spirdione
The Lark Publication

William J Spirdione is a poet who writes sonnets and more about nature and the humans within it.