Mind-Bending

Memories that last

David Rudder
The Lark
Jan 2, 2022

--

Photograph by Author

Where was I yesterday
The diaries tell it all
Music is mind-bending
I’m in total recall.

Alchemy is still turning
Metals into gold
Dire straits unwinding
Memories I hold.

Armed with evocation
The memories return
Like a branding iron
I can feel the burn.

Where were you in eighty-three
Or nineteen sixty-two
Connected by the music
As it goes through and through.

Songs of love and irony
Cellos and steel guitars
Symphonies and sympathy
Driving V-8 cars.

On the beach in the sun
The fifties when I sighed
Paul Anka and Buddy Holly
The day the music died.

Metaphysical and magic
Reminiscent of the past
Mind-bending music
The memories that last.

© David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
The Lark

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.