My Friend The Forest

A poem in the style of Warsan Shire

Tom Kane
The Lark
2 min readJul 4, 2024

--

dense forest
Image by Nightcafe

In the woods, I become a refugee from noise.
The trees offer asylum to my thoughts,
their leaves stamping visas on my skin.
I walk alone, but loneliness doesn’t follow.

Here, solitude is a warm cup of tea,
and I drink it slowly, savoring each sip.
The forest floor remembers my footsteps,
archives them in soft earth and fallen leaves.
I am writing my history with every stride,
each step a word in a poem only nature can read.

Branches reach out like arms of old friends,
welcoming me back to a home I never knew I had.
In this green sanctuary, I shed the armor
I wear in the world of concrete and glass.

The wind whispers secrets in a language
my bones understand. It speaks of roots
that run deeper than blood, of resilience
that outlasts winters and wars.

I gather strength from the silent giants around me,
their quiet perseverance a balm to my battle-worn spirit.
In their presence, I learn to stand tall,
to weather storms without breaking.

As dusk falls, I emerge from the woods,
carrying the forest within me like a hidden garden.
I am transformed, a fusion of flesh and foliage,
ready to bloom even in the harshest of cities.

If you enjoyed reading this, you may also want to explore and subscribe free to my weekly Newsletter, Poetry Genius, which contains tips and discussion on all aspects of poetry writing. Click here

--

--

Tom Kane
The Lark

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium