My Monologue

About the day I spent

Indah Maulida
The Lark
Dec 23, 2022

--

Photo by Brian Quid on Unsplash

I narrate my long monologue
in the street of cold and dirty smog

I arrived a bit late, apologizing and rushing around
I promise that tonight I will go early to bed

I did pretty well today, stammering a little
but they nodded and agreed with a smile

I walked fast, hugging myself from the wind
The bus passed by and I hadn’t crossed the road

I waited too long, sighing my breath out
It’s the cause of my cloudy eyeglasses and heart

I waited patiently, looking up at the sky
There were three stars, blinking shyly

I smiled faintly, recalling the paper stars
on my room ceiling with all my written dreams

My long monologue will still take place
in the street of my life and dreams

© 2022 Indah Maulida

--

--

Indah Maulida
The Lark

Gloom makes you bloom. Like a flower. | Writer. Poet. English Instructor. Dreamer. | Support me here https://ko-fi.com/indahmaulida