My Sincere Apology

Please forgive me

Colleen Millsteed
The Lark Publication
3 min readMay 28, 2023

--

A pencil drawing of a woman sitting at a table, head in her hands in distress.
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I see your name pop up on my screen,
(But I let your call go to voice mail),
I’m so sorry I couldn’t answer you today,
(As today is not a good day, it’s my fail),
(I’m struggling with what I’d say),
(I can’t face talking to you),
(Because I’m feeling anxious, overwhelmed),
(Distressed and heavily blue),
I promise I’ll return your call soon,
As I miss hearing your voice,
(It’ll be on a day when I feel I’m succeeding),
(A day when I feel I have a choice).

(I walk past you on the street),
(My head down pretending I don’t see you),
(I wanted to lift my head and smile),
(But I’m too stressed, hurting, and off cue),
I plan to catch up with you soon,
Let’s grab a coffee and cake,
A chat to catch up on all the gossip,
(On a day I have the energy to fake),
(Today was not that day),
(I didn’t even want to be out of the house),
(I knew you were there beside me),
(And now I feel like a louse).

--

--

Colleen Millsteed
The Lark Publication

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.