LIFE | LIFE LESSONS |INSPIRATION

My Tenth Celebration

A cat’s perspective — my return gift is ten life lessons

Dr. Fatima Imam
The Lark Publication
4 min readJul 4, 2022

--

Photo: Author

My special day arrived with a lot of fanfare. As expected, my hooman maid went crazy the night before my birthday by disturbing me at midnight. I was exhausted from four hours of activity around 11 am and needed my beauty sleep until 1 am to start my routine of checking out the imaginary beings in the dark and falling upon hoomans nonchalantly.

I declined a delicious cake prepared for me and went back to snoring with a vengeance planned for this discretion. When she was fast asleep, I woke her to do all the pre-birthday rituals at 5 am, and to my utter frustration, everything was done gleefully. Ah! What a life I have.

By the way, all the credit goes to my people, who deserve all the praise for making my tenth memorable. One of them flew out of province for me, and the other made all the arrangements and got me the bouquet of balloons. I sat under the bed, observing everything from a distance, but the smell of tuna cake lured me outside.

Finally, the surprise got me very excited, and I bit the strings so much that some of the balloons rose to the ceiling, which was perturbing to me, so I tried to catch them unsuccessfully. I meowed to show my pleasure that…

--

--

Dr. Fatima Imam
The Lark Publication

Poet, writer, artist, historian, educator, advocate of underrepresented voices, and cat lover.