My Troy

Poetry

Summi Sinha
The Lark
2 min readMay 18, 2023

--

Photo by Tayla Kohler on Unsplash

As the clouds move beyond,
into an unknown sky and
one by one, parading the stars;
came out,
stood in a line,
smiled and dispersed, all across the sky,
like a happy crowd glittering in the night.
And the moon toweling herself
like a maiden shy, a reflection white
Upon the earth I smiled
How pristine was the night!

And from the ebb, into the crevices
of my silent mind
I hear tapping foot, of a warring horse
the hoofs up, galloping horse, running towards me,
declaring the war, once again
taken aback, celebrations came with a betrayal,
a War of Troy silently fought
I had thought a ceasefire just finished,
a decade just passed:
so has the war of Troy but
an illusion, a betrayal awaited
assaulted and captured me
it pranced the fertile soil of my mind
and then, they had multiplied
like men from the wooden horse sprung one by one and
captured my celebrating mind, ripples all across.

I hear, your echo,
waves of your memories reflecting back on me
I hear the following sound,
I see your face inching me, torn apart,
until it was crystal clear upon my mind,
a fissure on my soul,
your memory stuck there, in the cracks
a dent that I could never repair
Upon me which like a shadow fall,
only changing lengths
Tapping every now and then,
echoing in the backdrop!

--

--

Summi Sinha
The Lark

Writing is a passion for me and especially poetry, have already published two books , My Pink bougainvilleas and Wren blooms, read them and love them!