Neglect

A reflection

YJ
The Lark Publication
2 min readAug 13, 2023

--

Image on Hippopx

I should have said something
about the rumbling
and the sounds
That I sensed something was broken…
somehow
But I tend to ignore things,
don’t I?
Both subtle and loud…

© YJ

My mom called me the other day and said my car was at the mechanics'. Apparently, they found the insides of my tires (whatever those are!) shattered.

It was dangerous… fatal.

I remembered how I noticed the unfamiliar sounds and jerky movements my tires made occasionally. And they affected the drive… but I dismissed them.

I dismissed them for a few months. Until one day, my dad spotted the broken parts by chance.

This made me reflect on the ways I neglect myself.

One of the ways we neglect ourselves is by ignoring the warning signs.

When we ignore that pain… that itch… that ache. Sometimes subtle, sometimes loud. But always disregarded.

This can be traced back to our formative years. Were our emotions dismissed or heard?

We do not have to be perfect at spotting dis-ease, but we can start by ensuring we do not wait until the brakes do not work or the tires swerve before we check things out.

I wrote in-depth about ignoring warning signs in the following story:

Support my work on Ko-fi. Learn all about me here. Thank you lovely soul for reading.

--

--

YJ
The Lark Publication

Muslim. ADHD-wired brain. I wince easily. Words never fail me. Mental Health. IDS UK alum. Ex-slave at EY and the UN. linktr.ee/allaboutyj