Nyctophilia

Just me and the night

Afrah
The Lark Publication
Feb 10, 2022

--

Photo by Baraa Jalahej on Unsplash

Sitting under the moonlight,
Barefoot on the grass,
Near the midnight,
I gaze upon the stars.

Counting them peacefully,
Naming them one by one,
Unapologetic for acting silly,
I relish in delusion.

Tranquil and calm is everything,
Just me, stars and the moon,
And silently we all sing,
The selenophile’s tune.

No ounce of sleep
In the drowsy eyes
Like I’m lost so deep
In this starry disguise.

Begging the rhapsodic starlight,
For the sunrise to delay,
And halt this elysian night,
Forever till the day I say.

~Afrah Khan

After a whole day’s work and exertion, all someone needs is relaxation and peace. I wrote this poem about a girl who sits alone under the night sky and feels the serenity and tranquility of the moonlight and wishes the time to stop at that soothing moment.

Thank you for reading : )

--

--

Afrah
The Lark Publication

Student. Not very good at writing, but fine to pen down some philosophies (mostly whatever's on my mind). I usually write short poetries.