O Old Enemy

Poetry

Medrik Minassian
The Lark Publication
1 min readApr 28, 2022

--

Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Truth be told to you, O enemy of the good and the old
I come to you with a bare chest and a fearless heart
My heart beats with every beat of the universe
I will call it home in your trench
I will take your sword and embrace your strikes of evil
I will dance to your grins. I will make you lose your own.

And when your evil turns into mine
I will show you the light I hold from within
I will call the Gods to walk over the fields of the Good and the old
Where I will run into you, where I may die, and you may never live

And if you played God to the Devil, you will walk chained to your soul
And drawn under your sins.
I will not be your judge. I will not call upon Azrael, Michael, or Shiva to drag you into their realm.
I will not be there to watch your misery,
For I survived your duel called on by your own loud trumpet
I will be among Men the Good and the old
I will be walking the path of life over death.

--

--