One A.M. Silence

A sleepless night and restless poet

Indah Maulida
The Lark Publication
1 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Photo by Lorenz Hoffmann on Unsplash

It's one a.m. silence
a great presence
with invisible threat
in a sleepless night

Silence couldn’t scream loud
it had no senses
so did I
hear nothing,
see nothing,
touch nothing,
smell nothing,
taste nothing
in this 1 a.m.

This silence intruded
into muddled mind
so I let it
think something,
worry something,
imagine something,
mumble something,
create something
in this 1 a.m.

It's 1 a.m. silence
a great presence
with vulnerable state
in a restless poet.

© 2023 Indah Maulida

You know, some said that “silence can be loud” or “silence speaks louder” so I decided to write this poem, but I thought, silence (especially at this night) couldn’t speak because it made you the one who “screams” inside.

And I wrote it at 01.13 o’clock.

Hello, I’m Indah. Thank you for reading!

Here are my other poem (with a kind of different perspective)

--

--

Indah Maulida
The Lark Publication

Gloom makes you bloom. Like a flower. | Writer. Poet. English Instructor. Dreamer. | Support me here https://ko-fi.com/indahmaulida