Petrol Puddle

Jade Hadfield
The Lark Publication
1 min readAug 16, 2021

Walking with a lit match,
temptation tapping at my heart,
fingers twitch to let go,
don’t let go,
petrol splashes with every step,
bare feet, bare legs, sodden,
it could happen in an instant,
don’t let go,
it’s so dark,
how far does this river flow?

What if eternity stretches out this road?
don’t let go,
restraint is all I’ve ever known,
but there’s no future here,
no way of knowing where to go,
don’t let go,
slip and fall,
and now it’s all out of my hands,
but the colors are so beautifully scorching,
but now I know,
I shouldn’t have let go.

Written using the prompt ‘Petrol Puddle’ from new_stanza on Instagram.

For more poetry, follow @jfhadfield on Instagram.

If you enjoyed this, you may also like:

--

--

Jade Hadfield
The Lark Publication

Morbid and weird. Writing about the bizarreness of the world and my struggles with chronic illness. Check out my other media: https://instabio.cc/3061322bS0d4u